Our Board

Our Board is made up of four non-executive directors and Christopher Welford, our Chief Executive. Our Board sets the strategic direction of the company and our objectives each year.

You can read the approved minutes of ENTRUST Board meetings here.

You can find details for ENTRUST Staff on the people tab of our contact us page.

Board members

Dr Ann Limb CBE DL (Chair)  

A Mancunian by birth, Dr Ann Limb CBE DL is a philanthropist, mover and Quaker. She was the first woman to be appointed as Chair of The Scouts - the UK's largest youth engagement charity, a role which she held from 2015 to 2021. She is also Chair of the UK's Innovation Corridor - the UK's leading sci-tech region linking London to Cambridge.

From 2011-2019, Ann was founding Chair of the country's top performing LEP, the South East Midlands Local Enterprise Partnership (SEMLEP) and is now a LEP Ambassador.

Between 1976 and 2001 Ann enjoyed a successful career in Further Education (FE) and the civil service as a College Principal in Milton Keynes and Cambridge, followed by responsibility for the UK government's flagship digital learning initiative, learndirect.

In the 2011 Birthday Honours, Ann was awarded the OBE and in 2015 'upgraded' to CBE. In 2019, Ann was named #1 LGBTQ+ public sector role model in the OUTstanding List and one of the 50 most influential women born in the North of England in the Northern Power Women Power List.

Ann was appointed Chair of ENTRUST in July 2014.

Mr Jon Carlton  

Jon is a Chartered Engineer who worked in the utilities industry for 35 years in the UK and USA culminating in Board positions for two significant subsidiary businesses of National Grid.

Apart from ENTRUST, Jon has a number of other Non-Executive positions, which include Chairing the Board of National Grid Electricity Group Trustee Limited, being on the Board of the Northern Ireland Utility Regulator and membership of the All-Ireland Single Electricity Market Committee. Jon also does some freelance consultancy, with a focus on energy and regulated industries. Jon is a Member of the Institution of Engineering and Technology and a Member of the Institute of Directors.

Jon is also active in supporting education, through an RSA project developing links between businesses and schools in North Oxfordshire, and is Vice-Chair of Governors of North Oxfordshire Academy. 

Mr Gerry McCormack  

Gerry has a broad business experience at Board level in both the private and public sector. His early professional background was as an audit practitioner and throughout his plc career as Group Finance Director he had direct involvement at Executive level with the Audit committee.

Much of Gerry’s professional life has centred on regulatory processes among which include The London Stock Exchange, the Regulator of Social Housing and the Education Skills Funding Agency for the Department for Education. Gerry chairs the Audit Committee of Moat Homes which he joined as a non-Executive Director in 2015. He is also Deputy Chair of Governors of Farnborough Hill school where he joined the Board in December 2016. 

Gerry is Chair of ENTRUST's Audit Committee.

Mr Julian Atkins  

Julian is an experienced Non-Executive Director having held Board posts in a number of sectors. He is currently deputy chair of The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust and board chair of Coventry and Warwickshire Chamber of Commerce's subsidiary training company. He is also a past president of the London Institute of Banking and Finance for Coventry and Warwickshire.

Julian's executive career was in financial services. He was part of the Executive leadership team and led the HR function at Coventry Building Society, where he worked for nearly 25 years. His early career was spent with the Thomas Cook Group and Marks and Spencer plc.

Julian is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development and a Fellow of the London Institute of Banking and Finance.

Julian is passionate about developing high performing teams and delivering excellent customer service.

Julian is Chair of ENTRUST's Human Resources and Remuneration Committee.

Mr Clive Lewis OBE DL  

Clive Lewis is a business psychologist specialising in individual, team and organisation behaviour. He is the founder and Chief Executive of Globis Mediation Group and one of the UK's most sought-after mediators. He has worked with executive teams and governments for over 20 years and is the author of seventeen books. His most recent and 17th book 'Toxic: A guide to building respect and tolerance in a hostile workplace' was published by Bloomsbury in February 2021.

He was awarded the OBE in 2011 for public service and for his contribution to the field of workplace mediation. Clive is currently studying towards a doctorate in occupational health, psychology and management at the University of London.

Clive chaired the panel which produced the government backed Reach report following the untimely death of Stephen Lawrence. In late 2020 he was appointed as the Chair of the Government's COVID-19 Vaccine Deployment Equalities Committee.

He was commissioned as Deputy Lieutenant of the county of Gloucestershire in 2012. He is a board member of the National Youth Jazz Orchestra, has served as a non-executive director in the NHS for six years and is Deputy Chair at the University of the West of England.

Mr Christopher Welford  

Christopher Welford has been ENTRUST’s Chief Executive since June 2006. Prior to his appointment he was the Director of Registrations and Compliance at the Electoral Commission and helped to set up and establish that organisation. He has worked in the Regulatory Sector for over twenty years and has extensive practical experience and knowledge of the strategic implementation of best regulatory practice.   

During his career he has worked in a number of public and private sector organisations in a range of different and complex roles including project construction, finance and senior management leadership roles.

As well as his executive roles, Christopher has undertaken a number of non-executive ones.